Chalk Painted Yard Sale Mirror

Chalk Painted Yard Sale Mirror

Saturday, my husband and I went yard sale-ing, and found a sweet, yet really heavy oval mirror with an ornate (can we say, “tacky”) plastic frame. She wanted $10, I offered $7, we settled the deal on $8. It is now the beautiful mirror gracing my entrance foyer. Lest you think I would ever put some tacky plastic framed mirror in my foyer, I will tell you all about its Cinderella transformation, so you can do it too.

I used Chalk Paint! You can buy it from the store, but come on, this is a yard sale item. Are you going to buy special paint for a yard sale item? I am not! So I made the Chalk Paint.

Chalk Paint:
3 parts latex paint (any color any finish)
1 part warm water
1 part plaster of paris
Mix it all up, and let it rest for a few minutes so the plaster can relax. Re-mix it and start painting.

first coat of chalk paint
first coat of chalk paint

I painted 4 coats of the chalk paint on the piece.

second coat of chalk paint
second coat of chalk paint

I should have used a soft bristle brush the entire time, but I only used it on the last coat. The harder bristles made little bubbles that burst, making little craters. The last coat with the soft bristle brush fixed it all.

Last coat of Chalk Paint.
Last coat of Chalk Paint.

It is suposed to be a good idea to steel wool the piece between coats of chalk paint, but I didn’t. I steel wooled before the 4th (last) coat. I think it did just fine.

My new mirror
My new mirror

As I painted on the thick Chalk Paint, the details of the frame filled in making it not tacky at all. It is much nicer! I will eventually go over it with some minwax like you use on floors just to seal it and give it a little more shine, but I want it to cure for a week first.

And, for the record, that is not a bug or huge mole on my face. My reading glasses have a neat looking chinese bead on each side of the beaded croaker that keeps them on me. I might have to change that! I did a double take when I saw it in these photos!

Well, I hope you fearlessly try Chalk Painting one of your not-so-treasured items to see if it is a treasure in hiding!

Happy Crafting!
Paula

