If you read the last blog entry on how we used burlap as a wall covering and it looked great, but more important fixed cracks from the house doing the hula.  Well, as mentioned we have cracks in the ceiling as well.  I was sitting in the craft room when I heard a huge crack – like a pistol firing – when this beauty happened over my head.

One of our HUGE ceiling cracks.
One of our HUGE ceiling cracks.

Naturally, I did not panic.  I zoomed up the attic stairs to the door, almost went in, but pictured an ax murderer hiding up there, or a HUGE raccoon.  I went and got my biggest Chinese cleaver and stood at the base of the stairs (a little to the right, incase they flung themselves at me), and yelled a little trash talk up at the door.  Truth be told, I would rather deal with an ax murderer then a large angry raccoon.  No one came down, so when Roger (my husband who is braver then I am) went up to look, I was glad it was neither.  It was more damage from that woman.

To make a long story short (to late!), we ended up with 5 of these cracks.  Yes, one in the living room.  Couldn’t be in the craft room and some closets.  No, not in my house!  One between the kitchen and living room, and one down the living room about eight feet from the wall.  We were going to fix them by putting up different ceiling treatments.  Like more burlap, or cork, or string cloth, or wood, but thank the Lord we didn’t have to do that!

I found ceiling tiles online we liked way better, and they would be easier on us.  Except we couldn’t afford them.  So we did what we do – ask Jesus.  We sat down with Jesus and told Him why we wanted these tiles, and how much it would take to afford them.  Then we ask Him to help us with them, and if we shouldn’t have them, then please keep us from getting them.

I asked some questions about them to people who had bought them online, and put them on my wish list.  The next day, the shop owner offered the tiles to me at a HUGE discount.  A discount so big in fact, that for the price of one room we could do the entire house.  I’m talking closets and all.  Thank-you Jesus!!!  We bought them.  It cost us the amount of money we had already set aside for the job to start saving for it.  The shipping was free, and they arrived in two days.  Yes, 2.

A box of ceiling tiles.
A box of ceiling tiles.

Aren’t the pretty?  We love them!  They are styrene, so strong and light weight.  Talk about easy to put up – they cut with scissors, and they only need a little mastic to hold them up.  I use one dot n the middle, a dot on each corner and a dot between the corner dots.

Online there is a product in a tube that is made to put these up if you don’t want the mess of mastic.  At $10 a tube, I’ll clean!  I had a bright idea that has worked out very well – cake decorating!

First, don’t kill yourself mixing mastic – buy a cheap premixed brand.  Besides it was cold out, and no one will mix this in my kitchen.  So premix is the way to go!

Putting on Mastic with a cake bag and a conical tip.
Putting on Mastic with a cake bag and a conical tip.

Second, don’t blop or splop it on the tile.  Go to your local art store (we use Michael’s) and buy a box a plastic disposable cake decorating bags and a conical point.  Also, get the little white plastic screw thing to attach the conical tip.  Put the tip on the bag then fill the bag about half way with mastic.  Twist the end, and squeeze out the little ice cream cone looking dots of mastic on the tile.  The center dot of mastic was the biggest – about the size of a hershey’s kiss.  The others were half that size.

Third, use a couple sheets of the cardboard box to apply even

Roger putting up tiles.
Roger putting up tiles.

pressure to the tile.  Stick it up to the ceiling first with your hands, then use the box.

You are done!  Caulk the seams if you want to – we are not.  Paint them if you want to – we are going to paint them light blue.

Here are some photos of what we did (him installing them on the ceiling and measuring,  and me applying mastic and cutting).  Realize we only worked about 4 hours to do this.  It is so easy, but we wanted to stop to let it dry because we didn’t know if we should go for wall-to-wall or let it dry, so let it dry won the day.  I don’t think it would have mattered.

It looks so posh!  I feel like this what it must feel like to win the lottery.  Again, thank-you Jesus!  You have always taken such good care of me, and I am so happy you take good care of my husband and I still.  We love you!!!  I love my husband too!!

Around the chandelier.
Around the chandelier.

IMG_20150228_121202973

We went straight down one side of the room first.  This way, you see whole tiles when you come to the front door, and it was easier then using plumb lines to find the dead center of the room (no one wants to do that).
We went straight down one side of the room first. This way, you see whole tiles when you come to the front door, and it was easier then using plumb lines to find the dead center of the room (no one wants to do that).
Going around ceiling fans is pretty easy, but is the least fun so far.
Going around ceiling fans is pretty easy, but is the least fun so far.

IMG_20150228_210433900(1) IMG_20150228_210557340 IMG_20150228_210602462 IMG_20150228_210606573

Roger in the garage foyer.
Roger in the garage foyer.
Garage foyer done!
Garage foyer done!
The foyer.
The foyer.
Heading into the kitchen, we stopped.  It is done now, but this was all day 1 work.
Heading into the kitchen, we stopped. It is done now, but this was all day 1 work.
This shows the blue we will be painting it.
This shows the blue we will be painting it.
