I have 3 BEAUTIFUL cats.  By “I” I mean my husband and I.  By “have” I mean we are the live-in staff for 3 cats.  I did not mean to imply they are only mine, or that I am in any way their boss, so don’t go saying I did!

With 3 indoor cats we tend to go through a lot of cat litter.  I do not know how to recycle cat litter, but I have found a wonderful use for cat litter plastic buckets.  I am container gardening with them this year!

IMG_20150427_190512720

After using these as storage for everything from Christmas decorations to tools, and even using them as saw horses for painting and such, I got a letter that changed my life.  A letter from the HOA telling me to immediately remove the storage containers from my driveway because it is not in keeping with the image our subdivision wants to project.  I pay these b-words!  So, like a good little drone I put them back in the garage where they wouldn’t be so offensive.  Was I just being nice?  You know me better then THAT!  Was I just waiting for the neighborhood panties to unbunch?  Kind of.

2 things came to me:  #1 I never want to live in a HOA again!  I mentioned I pay the b-words, right?  #2 Passive aggressive little old me can make it where the containers could be not only OK to have out front in plain view, but make them hard not to see.

IMG_20150427_190525127(1)

I container garden!!!  What a perfectly wonderful idea!  The HOA does encourage us all to recycle and have a compost bin (out back and out of sight).  Yep!  Good citizen of this HOA that I am, I made not only a container garden out of cat little buckets, but painted them bright freaking red!

Turns out it is a good thing to garden in!  All you have to remember are 3 things:

#1 Use a spray paint like one of the Rustoleum paints that  are made for outside and plastic.

#2 Do NOT NOT NOT paint the inside.  It could be poisonous or something.

#3 Drill drain holes in the bottom.  This brand of cat litter has 2 raised areas running underneath that are perfect for drainage holes.

IMG_20150427_190512720

Can you see the tomato cages on the right?  Turns out tomato cages fit perfectly in these!

I did leave the handles on, but that is a personal preference of mine.  I knit a lot, so I will be saving my hands from gripping tiny ledges on plant buckets to carry them, and instead use the handles.

In closing, I think y’all should know these are cool to me on 2 levels.  Yes, they make my passive aggressive self feel all tingly where it counts.  DUH!  But, I also really like these planters!!  I think they are pretty and functional.  I see more spray painted cat litter container in my future to store simply EVERYTHING!

Oh, and to the HOA b-words … back up on the porch, puppies!  The Real Big B needs to move her container garden to a sunny place in the driveway!!!!  Suck it!

