IMG_20150622_131301999Y’all know how all those folks on those survivor shows on TV always want a huge steak after they are booted off the island?  Not me!  Give me bacon, and leave me alone!!

BACON!  Bacon!  BACON!  Bacon!  BACON!

It is fun to say.  It is more fun to say if you have actual bacon in your mouth.

I made BLT’s today for my beloved and oh so spoiled husband, my baby, my honey, my darling Roger, and thought I would share the recipe.  It is the absolutely perfect BLT.

First, a disclaimer.  I know the bread looks all jacked-up, but I didn’t bake it, so ….  Jacked-up bread.  I did not squeeze it or harm it.  I actually bought it this way.  I wasn’t happy about it in the store, and I continue with my unhappiness, BUT I don’t eat with my eyes!

First, you will need 2 slices of bread, mayonnaise, pepper, a skillet, a pan to bake the bacon in, tomato, and whatever lettuce you like best.  What did I leave out?  BACON!!!!  You are going to NEED 8 thick slices of BACON.  [As a side note, I use 45 calorie bread, and lie to myself about how that mades it lower calorie!]

IMG_20150622_123259708 Lay out your bacon like in the picture.  Look closely, it is in a basket weave – that is important.  The little black flecks are pepper.  The ends of my side strips of bacon are folded neatly around the strip that is perpendicular to it.  These are full pieces of bacon, and you don’t want to crowd the strips.  You can see the only places they touch another piece of bacon is where they overlap.

IMG_20150622_123235940

I made 2 sandwiches today, so 2 mats of bacon is all my oven-sized pan would hold.  As you can see, I didn’t use fresh ground pepper.  These were not for company, so why do I need to get carpal tunnel from a pepper grinder?

Set the oven to 400 degrees (Fahrenheit), and put the bacon in for anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes or however long to cook it.  It will shrink and darken (for those of you who are bacon virgins, that might be news to you, and Welcome to the world of bacon).

You don’t need parchment paper.  I used it so the photos would show the bacon better.

At this point, start warming the skillet.  Put mayonnaise on ONE SIDE of your bread, and place the bread MAYONNAISE side DOWN in the skillet.  IMG_20150622_123532722

IMG_20150622_123602440IMG_20150622_123613551I am sure that was a lot more photos then you needed to get that part done, but we should all be on the same page.  Cook the bread until it is brown and crunchy on the one side only.  When it is done, place it uncooked side down on a plate.  This way the cooked side will stay crunchy.

IMG_20150622_124352129

Now, take a sharp knife and slice your tomato.  I would like to point out this is the first time I have used this knife without cutting myself.  It is sharp, and I tend to be easily distracted.  Be careful!  If a knife will go through the skin of a tomato, it will go throuIMG_20150622_123840445gh your skin too.

Rinse under running water each leaf of the lettuce you will be using, and shake it dry.  For some reason there is a lot of sand down in heads of lettuce these days, so make sure that water is running at a good clip to get it all off!  Now, take just the leafy part of each leaf and set it aside.

IMG_20150622_124212971

As you can see, I used a curly leaf lettuce, and a big beefy tomato for this recipe this time.  I shop at Food Lion, and this week the single large tomatoes are on sale for $1.49 a pound.  It is a good price, so that is why I used this type of tomato.  The lettuce is always $1.89 a head for several types, and the curly ones looked best today.  That is also a good price.

IMG_20150622_124800305

Time to deal with the bread again!  Spread mayonnaise on the uncooked side of each slice.  Then, on one slice layer lettuce with the nice parts facing out toward the crust.  Next add a layer of tomatoes.  Then, add another small layer of lettuce again.

IMG_20150622_130453484Your bacon ought to be getting towards done, so when it is it will need to come out on a few layers of paper towels.  You take the pan out of the oven.  Carefully pick-up one mat of bacon at a time by sliding the fork about midway under the IMG_20150622_131220553bacon.  Lift it, and let it fold in half as you put it on the paper towel layers.  Then, right away put the now folded bacon mat on the lettuce and tomato side of the sandwich, and close the sandwich with the other piece of bread.

From the first bite to the last, this is one crispy good, probably made in heaven by angels, kind of sandwich!  Hard to believe it is low calorie!!IMG_20150622_131301999.

.. and THAT is how you become the favorite wife!!

